skip to Main Content

Our Chamber is only as strong as the volunteers that help run it. Joining a committee gives you a chance to make a change in the community and also network with colleagues all working toward a common goal.

Membership Committee
Chair: Colleen Strube
Send Out Cards

Colleen Strubbe

The Membership Committee helps make membership within the Chamber a professionally-rewarding experience through regular communication with its members, evaluating new opportunities for member growth in different industries represented in the area, and effectively engaging all participating members in Chamber-sponsored activities. The goal of the committee is also geared towards member retention through member surveys and other metrics.

Events Committee
Chair: Rebecca Altendorf
Stand Upcounty

The Events Committee provides the Chamber with networking, educational, promotional, and community-wide activities for its members. This includes working with the Membership Committee on prospective and new member networking events, in addition to planning and coordinating awards ceremonies, annual and semi-annual celebratory galas, and ribbon-cutting events, among other networking opportunities, to benefit businesses in the area. Members: Kathy Hayes

Legislative Affairs and Economic Development
Chair: Stephanie Graves
Stand Upcounty
Stephanie Graves

Stephanie Graves

The Legislative Affairs Committee focuses on building and maintaining mutually beneficial relationships with elected officials and their offices on the federal, state, and county levels. Members of this committee monitor legislation that will affect the Clarksburg community in the short- and long-term, providing status reports and updates to the members and Board on a monthly basis. Working alongside the Board of Directors, the Legislative Affairs Committee also participates in discussions with local officials on relevant issues. The Economic Development Committee focuses on workforce and economic development, land use, and transportation issues affecting businesses. By working with area developers, local elected officials, transportation experts, and workforce leaders, the Economic Development Committee provides updates, resources, and information for Chamber member businesses. Members: Chris Rimorin, Steve Solomon, Jaimie Jacobson, Pat Darby, Ibi Teleki Sofillas

Advertising and Sponsorship
Chair: Ellen Bell
Senior Accounts Manager
Premier Values Magazine
Ellen Bell

Ellen Bell

The Advertising and Sponsorship Committee works to develop mutually beneficial relationships with businesses in the Montgomery County and Frederick County areas who have an interest in doing business in Clarksburg and actively support Chamber programs and initiatives in a variety of ways. The Chamber offers multiple visibility packages – from web advertising to event sponsors – providing branding opportunities and access to Clarksburg’s most lucrative businesses, while financially supporting Chamber activities and aligning their brand with the goodwill of the Chamber. Members: Ibi Teleki Sofillas

Community Outreach Committee
Chair: Ann Myers
The Myers Team at RE/MAX Realty Services
Ann Myers

Ann Myers

The Community Outreach Committee’s area of focus is to encourage members to support the Chamber’s philanthropic initiatives. The Chamber works with local nonprofit organizations, philanthropic foundations, businesses, and individuals to provide a voice for the Clarksburg and surrounding community and raise awareness of local causes. Members: Kevin Wolf of Clarksburg Woodworks;  Marcia Tivoli of Potomac Academy; Stephanie Graves of Switch to Solar; Tammy Weber of Cultural Care Au Pair; Ellen Silverstein, CPA; Fred Levy and Ibi Teleki Sofillas of My Realty Team LLC; William Ferry of Moyer & Sons; Dana Burton of College Hunks Hauling Junk; Julia Jones of CJ Defense and Venice Mundle-Harvey of Allstate Insurance.

Communications Committee
Chair: Bernadette Garrett
Independent Consultant
Adept Consulting LLC
Bernadette Garrett

Bernadette Garrett

The Communications Committee works to communicate Chamber business and updates to the media via press releases; plans and executes all Chamber communications materials such as e-newsletters, social media, and branding; and maintains the Chamber’s Facebook page, Twitter handle, LinkedIn group, and other social media platforms in real-time to draw higher visibility for its members and for the Chamber itself. This committee works in tandem with other Committee Chairs to make sure all forms of communication are updated in real-time and reach the correct audience. Members: Lynne Kingsley, Juliet Mandler, Ibi Teleki Sofillas

Scholarship Committee
Co-Chair: Marcia Tivoli, Potomac Valley Academy
Co-Chair: Julia Jones, CJ Defense

Marcia Tivoli and Julia Jones

The Scholarship Committee develops fundraising opportunities and guidelines for our member employee
scholarship and our Montgomery College scholarship to Upcounty high school graduates attending MC.

Back To Top